Sitting Dates

2018

1 All sittings open at 10:00 a.m. unless otherwise directed.

2 General Appeal Hearings will consist of all Civil and Criminal Appeals (excluding Sentence Appeals). For the purposes of calculating time frames, Monday is the opening day of the sittings week, whether or not the Monday of that week is a holiday. The first day of each sittings week is reserved for Fast Track Appeals.

3 For purposes of calculating time frames, opening day is the Monday prior to the first day of oral argument, whether or not the Monday of that week is a holiday.

4 Limited to appeals - (1) Against sentence where the appellant is in custody and there is a reasonable possibility that the result of the appeal is that he or she might be released before the next regular sittings of the Court; (2) From conviction where the appellant is in custody and has been refused interim release pending appeal; (3) Such other cases which, because of urgency or special circumstances, are directed to be heard by order of a Judge of Appeal.

Place of Sitting General Appeal Hearings -
(Week of)1&2
Sentence Sittings - First Day of Oral Argument1&3 Panel Applications1
Edmonton
Calgary
Mon. Jan. 8
Mon. Jan. 15
Tues. Jan 23
Tues. Jan 30
Thurs. Jan. 25
Thurs. Jan. 25
Edmonton
Calgary
Mon. Feb. 5
Mon. Feb. 12
Wed. Feb. 21
Tues. Feb. 27
Thurs. Feb. 22
Thurs. Feb. 22
Edmonton
Calgary
Mon. Mar. 5
Mon. Mar. 12
Tues. Mar. 20
Tues. Mar. 27
Thurs. Mar. 22
Thurs. Mar. 22
Edmonton
Calgary
Tues.Apr. 3
Mon. Apr. 9
Tues. Apr. 17
Tues. Apr. 24
Thurs. Apr. 19
Thurs. Apr. 19
Edmonton
Calgary
Mon. Apr. 30
Mon. May 7
Tues. May 15
Wed. May 23
Thurs. May 17
Thurs. May 17
Edmonton
Calgary
Mon. June 4
Mon. June 11
Tues. June 19
Tues. June 19
Thurs. June 21
Thurs. June 21
Edmonton
Calgary
Mon. July 164
Mon. July 164
   
Edmonton
Calgary
Tues.Sept. 4
Mon. Sept. 10
Tues. Sept. 18
Tues. Sept. 25
Thurs. Sept. 20
Thurs. Sept. 20
Edmonton
Calgary
Mon. Oct. 1
Tues. Oct. 9
Tues. Oct. 16
Tues. Oct. 23
Thurs. Oct. 18
Thurs. Oct. 18
Edmonton
Calgary
Mon. Oct. 29
Mon. Nov. 5
Wed. Nov. 14
Tues. Nov. 20
Thurs. Nov. 22
Thurs. Nov. 22
Edmonton
Calgary
Mon. Nov. 26
Mon. Dec. 3
Tues. Dec. 11
Tues. Dec. 11
Thurs. Dec. 13
Thurs. Dec. 13

Speaking to the List Dates

2018


Place of Sitting
Criminal Speak To
List - 10:00 a.m.1
Unscheduled Civil Appeals
List - 1:30 p.m.2
Edmonton Wed. Jan. 3 Wed. Jan. 3
Calgary Wed. Jan. 10 Wed. Jan. 10
Calgary Wed. May 2 Wed. May 2
Edmonton Wed. May 9 Wed. May 9
Calgary Wed. Sept. 5 Wed. Sept. 5
Edmonton Wed. Sept. 12 Wed. Sept. 12

1 Unless otherwise directed, the Criminal Speak To List will consist of all Criminal matters (excluding Sentence Appeals) where the notice of appeal is filed more than twenty (20) days prior to the speak to date.

2 Unless otherwise ordered, the Unscheduled Civil Appeals List will consist of all Civil matters (excluding Fast Track appeals) where the appeal has not been scheduled for hearing before a) the earlier of two (2) months after the deadline for the filing of the last factum in the appeal and nine (9) months after the filing of the Notice of Appeal, or b) any deadline stipulated by the Case Management Officer or Single Appeal Judge (Rule 14.33(2)).